Welcome

Thank you so much for checking out my blog!

A quick introduction is in order. My name is Carolyn and I’m a happily married 30 year old woman. I’m from Wisconsin, living on about 3/4 acre of land with my hubby, two dogs, and a cat. My goal is to help other beginners who are interested in veganism and/or a self-sufficient lifestyle. These subjects can be a little intimidating. There is inevitably a learning curve with any new set of skills, but I truly believe we are so much more capable than we give ourselves credit for!

I’m not a nutritionist, chef, carpenter, farmer, or general know-it-all smarty pants. I’m just a woman who woke up one day and realized that out of everything I was prepared for in life, living life wasn’t one of them. I had the opportunity to have a home of my own with my husband and I was so scared I wanted to run in the opposite direction. I had no idea how to take care of it. I didn’t know how to repair a crack in the wall or even mow the lawn. Up until now my mother and grandmother have lived here and played a huge role in keeping the house from falling apart. However, they’re getting ready to leave and the lot will be largely my responsibility as my husband is the sole provider. It’s truly time to put up or shut up and I have every intention of stepping into this role full force.

Discovering veganism this past January has helped me in so many ways. Not only do I feel better physically and mentally than I have in a long time, but I was inspired to learn how to cook. I’ve always been able to read a recipe, but there was no motivation or inspiration before. My confidence has grown. I feel less afraid of failure or judgement from others. It’s a reminder that the mindset that life is about discovering yourself is disingenuous. In reality, it’s much more about creating yourself. Decide who you want to be and work towards being that person.

A little of what you can expect to see documented here:

  • Daily living: Vegan recipes, trying out vegan cleaning/hygiene products, moving to a more minimalistic lifestyle, and anecdotes about my critters
  • Indoor activities: Learning to can, sew, and making repairs to my home
  • Outdoor activities: building garden beds, making a compost, repairing outdoor structures, planting fruit trees, etc.

This life may not be for everyone, but I’ve found so much meaning and purpose since I started this journey to a simpler life. Maybe you would too.

I hope to see you again!

2 thoughts on “Welcome

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s